1 X 1

Have you ever heard of an “inchie?” It is a one inch X one inch square! Simple enough, right? Well, that inch is a canvas for expression. Creating inchies was something I said I would NEVER get into. They are TOO small, and there is no possible way, to create something so small with so much meaning. As the old saying goes, “Never say Never!” I have not only started to create inchies, but have also added them to my swapping resume.

I am excited to share with you over the next few days some of my first attempts with inchies. These little squares were created according to a theme, and are already shipped off to the swap hostess, but thought you would enjoy seeing them, and maybe, just maybe, you will find yourself thinking on a smaller scale.

The first inchie reveal is actually a “whatever you want to create” theme. Basically anything goes………….

I created this inchie in honor of my Grandma. I am very blessed to still have my Grandma around and we even share the same birthday, isn’t that cool? She is exactly 50 years older than me, and a person I admire and love greatly. She told me last summer, that she loves to look at birds on a wire, while riding in the car. Isn’t that cute? And ever since she mentioned it, they are quite fascinating. :} So every time I see a wire loaded down with birds or even a solitary bird enjoying the wire all to himself, it reminds me of a sweet someone, who finds pleasure in absorbing the details, “even on just a ride to town.”

The birds are stamped with a “stick” stamp from Stamps by Judith, and the wire is a piece of black thread. They are colored and shaded as if sitting in the sun, and the background is a coating of metallic rub-ons.

This entry was posted in Birds, Grandma, Wire by Christy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christy

I am a papercrafter who attempts to view life at a tricycle pace. If you are in a hurry don't ask me for directions. I love making art to swap, especially retro art. Creating is fun, but creating for the purpose of sharing is fulfilling.

5 thoughts on “1 X 1

  1. This is really cute – so you CAN fit a story or a scene in just one Inch! I would have been a non-believer just like you.

Leave a Reply

