Did you Know?

A giraffe has a 3 foot heart?  So, what better animal for the front of a thank you card than the giraffe?

DSCF0505

 This card demonstrates the “painting with bleach” technique.  The giraffe was stamped on brown cardstock and embossed with detail black embossing powder.  After embossing— the image was painted with bleach using a small bristle paintbrush.  The bleach lightened the giraffe just enough to make him pop right out on that brown paper. 

The edging around the giraffe was stamped, colored with Tombow Markers, and cut out to create a whimsical boarder for this big hearted creature.  Finished out the project with inked distressed edges, and stamped little brown dots for the background, and wiped over the main base of the card with yellow metallic rub-ons.

The stamps used are all from Stamps By Judith!  Yup, she has a website…..go and check out all these adorable stamps, giraffe, little dots (you will find it under the stumpies), and the wonderful border…..  www.stampsbyjudith.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Christy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christy

I am a papercrafter who attempts to view life at a tricycle pace. If you are in a hurry don't ask me for directions. I love making art to swap, especially retro art. Creating is fun, but creating for the purpose of sharing is fulfilling.

9 thoughts on “Did you Know?

  1. I love this giraffe! The embossing is a great touch. I just did birthday stuff for the daughter of a friend, including making giraffe t-shirts and mini mazes.

  2. I definitely didn’t know that, but I knew there was a reason I loved them! (Well, I think it all started because I fed them, but whatever…) =) Great card – I love the bleaching!

Leave a Reply

