A Dress With A Hat To Match!

Below is the dress to match the hat…… (If you have not seen the hat, scroll down the page to previous post.)

I began with a plain jean dress, which was seeing it’s final days, because my little scarecrow is growing like a weed.  So I thought that altering something we already had would be a great way to repurpose!! 

DSCF1148

 The pom-pom trim was machine stitched around the hemline, and the raffia was cut to the perfect size and also attached with the sewing machine.   Raffia was tied around the buttons to help fill in some of the empty space, and also gives the idea of being stuffed with straw.  A little butterfly is hot glued on the button, can you see it? 

Felt leaves were hot glued around the neckline.  The patches were cut and the frayed edges give it the perfect scarecrow appearance.  A felt pumpkin was added to the patches to give more color and add some detail to the overall look.

DSCF1149

The back of the dress was completed with the same leaf neckline and patches.  The raffia around the sleeves was machine stitched, I would hate for my little scarecrow to lose her stuffing.  🙂

Hope this costume will inspire you to repurpose this Halloween Season.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Christy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christy

I am a papercrafter who attempts to view life at a tricycle pace. If you are in a hurry don't ask me for directions. I love making art to swap, especially retro art. Creating is fun, but creating for the purpose of sharing is fulfilling.

9 thoughts on “A Dress With A Hat To Match!

  1. I love this Christy!!! I am such a fan of repurposing ANYTHING, in an attempt to get a few more miles out of!!! way to go!!!!!

  2. How adorable!!! The hat and the dress are perfect!! Love the “straw” hanging from the bottom too! Great job!! Going to pass it on to my mom – she will love this!
    Maria

  3. perfect and the hat too! I made an atc a few years ago from a Fiskars ad in a trade magazine… it said, “if everyone took up sewing again, halloween would be fun”. I got such a laugh out of it!
    I think it’s on my blog on the fall atc’s page, but I better make sure! lol
    Pam Going Postal

Leave a Reply

