I {love} Color

There is just something about celebrating {love}, especially in the middle of winter.  A dose of red and pink does the soul some good in the midst of a colorless winter.  This is my second year of making heart crayons and the process of recreating the traditional crayon stick into a shape everybody {loves} is very satisfying.  I soak the crayons for a few minutes in a bowl of cold water.  This step eliminates sore fingers, large chunks of colored wax under your fingernails, and mostly a lot of precious time.  The wrappers just peel right off.

Once the crayons are peeled, it’s time to snap them into smaller pieces.  I layed the peeled crayons on an old towel and used a butter knife to snap them into smaller pieces.  Be sure to put your free hand over the top of the crayon you are cutting, because sometimes the “snap” can send the pieces flying. 

The small pieces can now be placed into the {heart} mold.  (I use a Wilton silicon mold because it eliminates any sticking and the mold is easily bent to remove each heart.)  You can put any color combinations together, but I have found that putting “shades” of color together to be the most eye catching.  Put the mold into the oven at 200 degrees for about 15 minutes (oven times may vary, so keep watch) and remove when the wax becomes liquid.

  

Allow the crayons to cool for a few minutes and then remove them from the mold.

Once they are removed from the mold, place them on a cooling rack for additional time to cool.  You are then ready to fill the mold again to make more crayons.  Don’t you just {love} them?  They are almost too beautiful to give away.  However, I am sure the little {sweethearts} who will be receiving them will {love} them just as much!  Give it a try…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Christy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christy

I am a papercrafter who attempts to view life at a tricycle pace. If you are in a hurry don't ask me for directions. I love making art to swap, especially retro art. Creating is fun, but creating for the purpose of sharing is fulfilling.

8 thoughts on “I {love} Color

  1. Not used to this blogginf service I posted a comment for this in the post just below this – ooops. anyway I am so very inspired to try this an dI’m wondering where I can buy a tray like the silicon one you have?

Leave a Reply

