Unmounted Stamps

I {love} unmounted stamps. 

Unmounted stamps offer quality images for reasonable prices and it’s also cheaper to ship unmounted stamps.  Gotta love those win/win situations! 🙂  Since I have a growing collection it is time to talk about how to organize and store unmounted stamps.  Organization for me must be practical.  If items are “too stored” then I have a tendency to not use them.  It is also nice to have some supplies organized that are ready to pick up and go.  My unmounted stamps are a must when traveling for an evening of paper and ink with my friends. 

So here is what I have implemented to keep my unmounted stamps useable and dust free.  (Probably the only thing in my house that is dust free)

This is a file box that I picked up from Staples.  It closes and locks, and has a handle at the top.  It is a sturdy box so no crushing or damaging of the treasures that are inside.

Here is a closer look at how everything is situated in the file box.

Now you can begin to see how everything is stored.  The main base which the unmounted stamp sticks to is an acrylic wall mounted frame for posting signs .  (I purchased these sign holders at Staples.)  If you look carefully, you can see there are 2 holes at the top of the acrylic frame  for attaching them to a wall, but of course not doing any attaching in this case.  Stamp the images on plain white paper and then slide the white paper into the frame to indicate where to stick the stamp.  If I purchase sets of unmounted stamps, I often use the sheet that comes already printed with the images.  You can see in the acrylic frame on the right where I taped the manufacturers already printed page to a white paper, to save the step of stamping each image. 

Here is a close-up of the acrylic frame with some of the stamps removed to show you better what I am describing in the step above.

Since the acrylic frame is double sided it stores double the stamps!  I tend to group like stamps on one frame to help me stay better organized.

Hope this havs given you some organizational inspiration!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Christy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christy

I am a papercrafter who attempts to view life at a tricycle pace. If you are in a hurry don't ask me for directions. I love making art to swap, especially retro art. Creating is fun, but creating for the purpose of sharing is fulfilling.

7 thoughts on “Unmounted Stamps

  1. I have been looking for ideas, for organizing – this is such and informative post for me! I too need storage that wont get lost in the abundance I have so that I never see them hence never use them. This seems like a very good idea. Are the stamps inside the frame or on the outside, I can’t tell. oh and the heart crayons I made – didnt really turn out so I never did post them on my blog. I guess i just need ot do it a couple more times so I may “prefect” my heart crayon making skill – hehe

  2. My previous replay was meant for the paper technique posted above. Sorry for the mixup!

    This is a wonderful idea for storing unmounted sets. I do have a question though. Have you had any problem with the stamps falling off the acrylic? I was also wondering if you have tried this space saving idea with clear polymer stamps.

    TFS this storage tip!

Leave a Reply

