Rest of the Story……

As you recall the beginning of the story went like this using something old……..

This cast-away, hard covered, book from the thrift store was way too beautiful to leave behind.  The muted colors and design caught my eye and I had just the project in mind.

Here is the rest of the story…….

I adhered the back page to the back cover using my ATG adhesive gun.  With the front cover flipped open and the rest of the book held tightly closed I used a paint brush to apply a thick coat of Mod Podge all around the edges.  Leaving the front cover open let dry.  Once the edges were dry, I traced the shape of my box opening and began the cutting.

I started the cutting with the Tim Holtz craft knife and that was a great way to start to keep the rectangle shape consistant and clean.  Once the cutting became deeper in the book I switched to a utility knife.

Isn’t this coming along nicely?  The cutting of the pages didn’t take very long as the utility knife cut through several pages at once.  I knew the cutting was deep enough by keeping track of the thickness of the book.   The bottom of the inside of my new treasure box was complete when I just happened to come across a beautiful vintage illustration.

Once I was satisfied with the depth of my box and the illustration on the bottom.  I used a paint brush to apply a thick coat of Mod Podge to the inside edges of the cut pages as well as to the base of the box (the illustrated page).  This gave a nice hard coating to the cut edges and the base giving it an overall finished look and feel.

I was very pleased with the outcome, so much so that I purchased another beautiful hard cover book.  🙂  This makes the perfect and practical nightstand decoration to hold jewelry or various other treasures.

And now you know the rest of the story of using something old and creating something new!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Christy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Christy

I am a papercrafter who attempts to view life at a tricycle pace. If you are in a hurry don't ask me for directions. I love making art to swap, especially retro art. Creating is fun, but creating for the purpose of sharing is fulfilling.

12 thoughts on “Rest of the Story……

  1. What a FABULOUS and fun idea! I know I’ll be on the lookout for books like this more often now. WOW! Just love it!!!
    Thanks for showing this fantastic project idea. I think I could handle this one. 🙂

  2. This is such a clever idea. I love it! I’ll never see an old hardback book without thinking of this project. Thank you for sharing this with us. I LOVE it.

  3. Soooo….much cheaper then buying them….love it! I used some books recently to add height to a lamp….stop by and take a look at my posts…catch ya there…Tootsie

Leave a Reply

